Cats and mint

We’re closing on a house on the 31st. We’ve been rental nomads for so long, this feels unreal. I have big plans for being a homeowner. I’ve had container gardens this whole time but it isn’t easy. I could plant things like tomatoes in a container but I just don’t have the gumption. I’ve stuck to herbs such as mint. Mint is so easy! I knew a girl who took the piece of mint that was a garnish for her mojito home with her, stuck it in water, rooted it, and planted it. It lived and did nicely. This is my current container of mint:
image

It looks like it is escaping.

My biggest wish is to be more self sufficient so my homeowner plans are all to further that. I want to be prepared if a zombie apocalypse happens. I’m a huge Walking Dead and Z Nation fan.

I want to:
Cut out the processed foods and cook from scratch
Bake our own bread
Have a garden and grow some of our own food
Have backyard chickens
Compost
Use less plastic in the kitchen and recycle more
Put in a rain barrel
Start canning and preserving food

… and more!

Big hopes and plans, I know. Especially with us having full time jobs and two small boys. It is a suburban house, but it is on a little over half an acre so at least we have a little plot of land.

I will admit that I don’t have any experience with chickens, but I’ve read a lot, and I have lots of cats. I know chickens require different care than cats, but at least I have an idea of animal care. That counts for something, right?
image

Since I have such big hopes, and dreams, and plans, I thought that I would start a blog to document it as I go. I only have real experience with cats and mint, so that became the title.

So welcome! I hope that you will say hi, and follow along on this adventure.

Leave a Reply

