Chicken coop plans

One of my fondest wishes is for a flock of backyard chickens. Our area allows up to 8 for our yard size but I only want 3 or 4. First we need somewhere to keep them though.

I’ve been researching chicken coop plans and designs and stumbled across coops made from kid’s plastic playhouses. We just so happen to have a very beat up Little Tikes house at my inlaw’s:countingdays

Isn’t it sad looking? OK, I made it more sad with the filter that I added to the picture. It is missing a couple of shutters and faded but still sturdy. With some hard cloth wire (sturdier than chicken wire) over the windows and a roost and some nesting boxes, I think it will be fine. The plan is to build a platform to put it on so that it won’t be right on the ground, plus we’ll build a little run around it.

Here is the post that gave me the idea: Little Tikes Coops

and a video tour of one:

There are naked neck turkens in her coop in the video which I’d never seen before.

Have you seen all the cool chicken coop tour videos on Youtube? They’re so inspiring. I can’t wait to share our finished project!

Leave a Reply

