What your pallet stamps mean

Moving is a big deal. It isn’t just taking stuff from one place and putting it in another. You have to pack, move, unpack and organize. We’ve been so scattered for so long that the unpacking and organizing is taking forever. It is certainly giving me something to do until Spring planting time though. I had ambitious plans to do a Fall/Winter garden but then I realized that I need to get my ducks in a row first and use the winter to get good and organized.

What I’m doing until Spring includes buying books and reading and also subscriptions to Mother Earth News and Grit. Side note on Mother Earth News and Grit: their websites have some awesome giveaways for things like homesteading supplies. I haven’t won anything but I keep entering. I love entering contests and sweepstakes. It’s like playing the lottery but doesn’t cost anything.

OK, back to what I’m doing: I’ve joined backyard homesteading type Facebook groups which are a wealth of information. I’ve asked one or two questions and always get tons of answers and responses. I’m planning for chickens come Spring and we’ll be working on the coop for the next few months. I’m keeping my eyes open for things and supplies that I can use. Pro tip: when you need supplies, TELL PEOPLE. You never know who will have what you need.

For example, Hubby works for a brewery and I mentioned that I wanted some pallets for my garden plans but didn’t know where to get some. He said “Oh, you want pallets? We’ve got some that we can’t use or return, I’ll get them.” and voila, I have pallets.

pallets.png

I started searching for ideas of what to use them for and came across a thread in one of the aforementioned Facebook groups. Several people warned against using pallets that had been chemically treated. Apparently pallets are treated to kill bugs that might be in the wood and they can be heat treated or chemically treated. I never knew that was a potential problem but I learned that you can tell good and bad pallets by their stamps. The stamp isn’t always in the same place so I had to look for each one. Here is what I found on my pallets:

palletstampscollage.png

The HT means each one was heat treated which is good because it means they were treated by heat instead of a chemical spray. Chemically treated ones would be marked MB. MB stands for Methyl Bromide which is a pesticide that can be harmful. Here is what the rest of the stamps mean:

palletstampsid.png

I had to Google IPPC because I’ve never heard of that before. IPPC is a group that safeguards against potentially harmful pests being carried to new areas of the world on products like pallets. Invading species could take over and do serious damage. They want to make sure trade among countries isn’t affected by those risks.

Now that I know my pallets are safe, I’m good to go on projects with them. Have you recycled pallets for anything? What’d you make?

Leave a Reply

