Making it up as I go along

I’ve been doing the stay at home mom thing for a week now. So far, so good.
Finding things to keep the kids occupied has been tough. They’re obsessed with their tablets, TV, and for the oldest, Minecraft. I kick them off technology regularly and get whines of “I’m bored!”. Ugh. I tried suggesting things for them to do and got a resounding “No!”. I’ve been leaving them to solve the boredom and after a whole week, they are finally getting into pretend play again with their toys, and reading or looking at books. The other day I made banana bread and the oldest volunteered to help and really enjoyed it. He also ate it (actually over half of the loaf) without telling me it looked weird, so I call it a success.
Yesterday I painted a “No Solicitors” sign, because the religious and sales people have been driving me up the wall. Both boys kept wanting to help, so I went and dug through my craft supplies and found some flower pots for them to paint. I think we’ll try turning them into wind chimes in a day or two when they’re getting antsy to do some crafting again. If I suggest it, it will be a no, but if I let them start asking, they’ll be gung ho for it.
Can you tell from my painting that I’m a huge Mary Engelbreit fan? I’ve always loved how bright and cheerful her pictures are. I’d never painted something like this before and wound up painting how I doodle. The slate plaque is from Goodwill – it has an ugly Christmas scene on the other side. I tried removing it with nail polish remover but that didn’t work so I just flipped it over.
Next week is vacation Bible school for the oldest and that will be a relief. I’m still trying to come up with creative things for them to do and it will give more time.
Leave a Reply

